06/27

September 8th marked 6 months since arriving to Ukraine, or “in-country” to use PC lingo.

In many ways, I feel like I just arrived. I think often “I just started, I have so much more time,” to begin projects in my community. At my school, my novelty hasn’t worn off. It was still cold when we arrived, but now we’ve made it through our first summer without A/C. And by the numbers, 22% seems like a big portion to be done with.

But sometimes, I feel like I’ve been here forever. When I think about the things that just seem normal to me, or when I manage to get by on my limited Ukrainian. When I think about the friends I’ve made, it doesn’t seem real I’ve only known them for six months. In a few days, my group won’t be the ‘babies’ anymore – and somehow we’re supposed to give them advice.When I remember that I’ll be 25 when I come home, and have two more birthdays, Christmases, Easters, etc. But six months seems the longest when I think about the last time I saw my family and friends and when I think about the next time I will see them.

So…what has changed in six months?

  • I go by Sasha now. Sasha is the nickname for Alexandra here and I love it! This will please all of you that have insisted my name is too long over the years!
  • I have caved to European pressure and now drink carbonated water.
  • I frequently use phrases that are exactly correct English, but are the closest translation to what Ukrainians say, for example, “to have a rest.”
  • Life is much more laid back, so I need to “have a rest” often.
  • I speak in a mess of ‘Ukrain-glish.’
  • I have said many times tea is just leaf water. Now I drink a few cups a day.
  • I like onions now.
  • I crave borsch.
  • Stranger danger is no longer a concept in my life. (these stories coming soon)
  • Sitting on the corner of a table, having wet hair, and putting an empty bottle on the table are all major stressors in my life.
  • I can usually tell the difference between when people are speaking Russian and Ukrainian.
  • I have realized that there are many, many things about the English language that are very confusing. A lifelong mumbler, I now speak very clearly and slowly…until I get around other Americans and it becomes a jumbled mess.

I’m sure there are other things, but what’s most different, is at some point, Ukraine started to feel like home. I know that’s corny – deal with it.

Leave a comment