The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

So, as you can see I’ve caved and decided to start a blog. I was hesitant after a failed study abroad blog attempt, but I have things to say and Peace Corps tells me this is a good way to handle stress.

To get you up to speed, I present the good, the bad, and the ugly of my first four months in Ukraine.

The Good:

  • The people. I am 100% certain I would not be here without the incredible support system I’ve acquired in my short time here. The people I’ve met, both American and Ukrainian are some of the kindest people I’ve ever met.
  • Ukrainians. Every day I’m floored by the generosity and welcoming nature of Ukrainian people. There is a concept of ‘the inner circle’ in Ukraine, and that once you’re in, you’re family – and you do anything for family. In my experience, it is completely true and every day I’m more and more floored by the size of the hearts of the people I meet.
  • Teaching/Students. Good news! I like teaching! I was super nervous as I had never taught before, but I find it really enjoyable and fulfilling. My students are adorable and have a real desire to learn. Also, surprise, turns out I like kids.
  •  The food. Somehow everyone in this country looks like a supermodel, but I don’t understand how. Ukrainians can cook…and this being the breadbasket of Europe results in some incredible baked goods. There are a ton of fruits and vegetables, fresh at the local market, and in my own backyard. Minor exception: google “holodets.”
  • Language. Turns out I’m not that bad at Ukrainian. I understand a lot and people only laugh at me about half the time I speak!

The Bad:

  • Boredom. School starts September 1st, I arrived June 1st. I’ve been doing a lot of reading.
  • Homesickness. Perhaps it’s being separated from new friends, or because I’ve had a lot of time to think recently, but I’ve been pretty homesick. Being 5,000 miles away for Stella’s bachelorette party, or hearing about my family all together is hard. There’s no other way to put it.
  • Loneliness. After arriving to site, I realized I’m a bit more isolated than many of my friends, like being 2 hours from the nearest train station. It makes travel hard and complicated. Also, it turns out making friends with people who don’t speak your language is somewhat difficult.

The Ugly:

  • Me after eating the entire pack of Oreos my parents sent me in two days.

 

I’ll get in to more detail about all of these things soon, but there’s the summary for now. Gotta keep people on the edge of their seat.

xoxo

Ukrainian Gossip Girl

Leave a comment